Ordinary Meeting, 2008 November 22

This document is also available in pdf format. The British Astronomical Association website is here.

Ordinary Meeting, 2008 November 22

held at the Royal Astronomical Society, Burlington House, Piccadilly, London SE1

Roger Pickard, President

Ron Johnson, Hazel Collett and Nick James, Secretaries

The President opened the second meeting of the 119th Session and invited Mrs Hazel Collett, Meetings Secretary, to read the minutes of the previous meeting. These were approved by the audience and duly signed. It was announced that 15 new members were proposed for election, and those 18 new members who had been proposed at the previous meeting were approved by the audience and declared duly elected. Mr Nick James, Papers Secretary, reported that four papers had been approved for publication in the Journal:

[check these]

The Leonid Meteor Shower in 2002, by Neil Bone

A Method for Determining the V-magnitudes of Asteroids, by Roger Dymock & Richard Miles

SDSS J.... , by Jeremy Shears et al.

...., by Richard McKim

The President announced that the next Ordinary Meeting would be the Christmas Meeting, to be held on Saturday December 13 at the present venue. Before then, the Webb Deep Sky Society would be holding their Annual Meeting on Saturday December 6 in Cambridge. The President then introduced the afternoon's first speaker, Dr Sarah Bridle, Lecturer and Royal Society Research Fellow in the cosmology research group at University College, London.






Color scheme