Ordinary Meeting, 2009 January 28

This document is also available in pdf format. The British Astronomical Association website is here.

Ordinary Meeting, 2009 January 28

held at the Royal Astronomical Society, Burlington House, Piccadilly, London SE1

Roger Pickard, President

Ron Johnson, Hazel Collett and Nick James, Secretaries

The President opened the fourth meeting of the 119th Session and invited Mr Tom Boles to read the minutes of the previous meeting on the behalf of the Meetings Secretary. These were approved by the audience and duly signed. It was announced that 25 new members were proposed for election, and those 8 new members who had been proposed at the previous meeting were approved by the audience and declared duly elected. Mr Nick James, Papers Secretary, reported that two papers had been approved for publication in the Journal:

[check these]

CCD UVB-Photometry of Three Southern Galactic Open Clusters.... , by David Boyd et al.

The Comets of 1999, by Jonathan Shanklin

The President announced that the next Ordinary Meeting would be held on Wednesday March 31 at the present venue. Before then, the Association would be holding a Back to Basics workshop in Canterbury on January 31. The President then introduced the evening's first speaker, Dr Nick Achilleos of the Atmospheric Physics research group at Imperial College, London.






Color scheme