Ordinary Meeting, 2009 March 25

This document is also available in pdf format. The British Astronomical Association website is here.

Ordinary Meeting, 2009 March 25

held at the Royal Astronomical Society, Burlington House, Piccadilly, London SE1

Roger Pickard, President

Ron Johnson, Hazel Collett and Nick James, Secretaries

The President opened the fifth meeting of the 119th Session and announced that Council had decided earlier in the day that the reading of minutes at Ordinary Meetings was a redundant practice which should be ceased forthwith. He added that the minutes of Ordinary Meetings would continue to be made available to any members who wished to consult or comment upon them. The President then proceeded with the other business announcements, announcing that 146 new members were proposed for election. Those 25 new members who had been proposed at the previous meeting were approved by the audience and declared duly elected. Mr Nick James, Papers Secretary, reported that four papers had been approved for publication in the Journal:

[check these]

The Comets of 2000, by Jonathan Shanklin

GSC2.3 N152008120 – a new SU UMa-type dwarf nova in Draco, by David Boyd et al.

Condensation in Observatory Domes, by Brian Mitchell

VSX J074727.6+065050: a new WZ Sagittae star in Canis Minor, by Jeremy Shears et al.

The President announced that the next Ordinary Meeting would be held on Wednesday May 27 at the present venue. Before then, the Association would be holding an Out-of-London meeting at the Rutherford Appleton Laboratory in Didcot, Oxfordshire, on April 25, and the Association's Winchester Weekend would be taking place over the weekend of April 3-5 at Sparsholt College, Winchester. The President then introduced the evening's first speaker, Dr Richard Miles, Director of the Association's Asteroids and Remote Planets Section.






Color scheme